Assignment 3: p7 Scripts and particles

Over the past few days I made tones of progress into my scripting and even added a particle system.

With the visit to the particle lab a few weeks back I was determined to give my build a good one. After a bit of consideration I decided to add two exhaust pipes to the top of the outer shell as seen bellow, vising the particle lab again, I found a smoke script and with a little modification managed to create the effect I was looking for.

Pic 16.JPG

Exhaust pipes with particle system

While I was at the particle lab I also found a particle system for and explosion. This gave me an idea, while I had already wanted to make the bombs drop-able, the added explosion effect would add that final touch in my opinion.

Copying one of the bombs over to a free area I started to play with the script. While the effect looked good (If a little underwhelming due to particle limits) I didn’t want it to work all the time like the smoke did. To avoid this I found some information about buoyancy and collision detection and mashing it all together gave me the result I desired.

Pic 19

Bomb exploding

When the bomb is spawned it gains a buoyancy of 0.9 which causes it to start dropping slowly (while gaining momentum). When the bomb hits something the particle effect will start giving the explosion effect for ten seconds.

Current objects:

  • 93x Sphere
  • 35x Box
  • 8x Torus
  • 8x Triangle
  • 48x Cylinder
  • 6x Texture (5x Uploaded, 1x Local)
  • 3x Scripts (7x Props, 1x Door, 2x Smoke)

193 prims total

Leave a comment